A touch of His garment …

He called her 'daughter'

Reading from the Gospel of St. Matthew on the woman haemorrhaging blood for twelve years, my thoughts lingered on the strong contrast that is presented to us: the woman – alone, silent, humble, full of faith – and “the minstrels and the multitude” – noisy, intrusive, cynical, hard of heart.

Our Lord says to the woman, “Be of good cheer”.  The Son of God calls her “daughter”.  But to the others His words are short: “Give place”.

And we are told by St. Matthew that He would not enter the house of the ruler whose daughter appeared to be dead until the minstrels and multitude were “put forth”.

Is not that lone woman perhaps an outstanding example of what modern spiritual writers might describe as “human come to full stature”?  She is reticent, furtive, unassertive and diffident, holding her peace instead of speaking out.  No.  If she serves as an example, she will more likely remind us of the common portrait of the much-caricatured “pre-Vatican II Catholic”, silent at Mass, head bowed in humble adoration, mumbling Paters and Aves as the great Mystery unfolds at the altar, content with a glimpse of the Host and the Elevation, “a touch of His garment”.

Much contemporary scorn has been heaped upon such as she, while the minstrels and the multitude, for their part, have seemingly prevailed, even invading the sanctuary with their noisy and noisome clamour, minding “earthly things”, fully and – loudly – confident in their position and possessions.

Yet we cannot fail to see that it is the confident and assertive minstrels and multitude that end by being excluded by the Son of God from His great Work.  But the shy and diffident invalid, of no interest to the mob and unable to draw from them notice or compassion, merits the Divine encounter that wins her far more than just the healing of a flow of blood.  

She does not disrupt, as the mob does, the Presence with her noise.

Her conversation, unlike theirs, is “in heaven”.

29 Responses to “A touch of His garment …”


  1. 1 Antonella Oliver July 24, 2009 at 11:51

    Gabriella……..thanks for the above…..on further reading of Matthew from the Good News Bible Matthew 24 ch 15 “You will see the Awful horror of which Daniel the prophet spoke. It will be standing in the Holy place (note to the reader: be sure to understand what this means)

    well please explain to me….I dont seem to understand what it means. Thanks

  2. 2 Cinzia July 24, 2009 at 12:27

    Brilliant post Gabriella! Possibly your best so far … but then again they are all brilliant.

    This one could also be a follow-on from your previous one about humans feeling inadequate and inferior, and about those who shy away from the minstrels and the multitudes just like the woman.

    Brings to mind this:
    “He has come to bring the good news to the poor,
    Tell prisoners that they are prisoners no more.
    Tell blind people that they can see,
    and set the downtrodden free ……”

    What a superb insight you have in this post. Great stuff!!

  3. 3 anne bender July 24, 2009 at 12:44

    Her conversation will be in heaven…I love that! My favorite part of the story of the hemorrhagic woman are the words Christ speaks to her…”Courage, daughter, your faith has saved you!” I pray those words often.

    Love your blog! I’m curious, are you an American living in Italy, or an Italian who speaks English? Can you share a little of your background?

  4. 4 Fr. James Rosario July 24, 2009 at 15:23

    Antonella, read Daniel 9,27 and 11,31 and 12,11 and to complete the picture 1 Maccabees 1,57 and 6,7.
    Jesus’ prophesy quoting Daniel is on the continuous sacrificial rituals in the temple of Jerusalem with no obedience whatsoever to the Torah. Maccabees enlightens Jesus’ prophesy saying that only those who live by the Torah will meet Jesus in his final coming.

  5. 5 Wendell July 24, 2009 at 15:56

    I agree with Cinzia, a superb insight.
    And like Anne, I just love ‘her conversation is in heaven’.
    Indeed, you’ve opened my eyes as the similitude between the woman and today’s traditional (real) catholics is very clear🙂
    My family and friends can’t help thinking I’m exaggerated: “Latin, Latin, what’s with Latin all the time!” and they can’t see that THAT is not the point at all!! … but ‘alone, silent, humble and full of faith’ we will wait the ’12 years’ …
    If we are sufficiently humble and wise to benefit from the woman’s example rather than that of the noisily insistent majority, we too can hope to “look for the Savior, Our Lord Jesus Christ” who will, as He did for her – and only for her, not for the multitude – “reform the body of our lowness, made like to the body of His glory.”

  6. 6 Mitchell July 24, 2009 at 16:07

    As Fr. Rosario says: “the continuous sacrificial rituals in the temple of Jerusalem with no obedience whatsoever to the Torah” ….. we see these all over the world nowadays. Masses all different one from the other, some with lots of lay people taking over, some with plenty of singing and waving and loving and hugging ….. all with no obedience whatsoever to the Pope!!!!! The Pope wants Latin. The Pope wants Gregorian. The Pope wants the Mass in the Extraordinary Form but ….. no, wait ….. most of the Bishops are against it ….. what about obedience, guys?????

  7. 7 Cinzia July 26, 2009 at 14:59

    Dear all – I have to share this with you today, and I apologise that it is so negative … but the NO Mass I attended today was simply appalling .. and I have to get it off my chest! And please would you let me know if I have become too critical – I realise that I am now much more sensitive to Mass and how it is celebrated, particularly after following this blog and other similar ones.

    Anyhow, I went to Mass for the first time in a different suburb, because that is where my son was going to play his weekly football match after church. We got there at 11am, and we couldn’t make out which building was the church! We then saw a sign on a wall which said, “Mass today will be in the Hall.” We followed the arrows and sure enough, found a hall full of noise, chatter and confusion. We went in just as Mass was starting.

    To cut a long horror story short, here’s the summary: The priest kept interrupting the Mass with all sorts of other talk, whatever came to mind. In the middle of Mass, a dozen children were called up to the front to recite a prayer about when they would receive their first holy communion. Further on, a couple and their baby were also called to the front to be introduced as the couple with baby who was going to be baptized sometime in the future … the sermon was focused entirely on money, and “giving” to Caritas and to Project Compassion and to the “Project 100 (the Palestinians). The priest made the relation between this and the story of the 5 loaves and 2 fishes.

    There was no sacred tabernacle, this being a hall – there was a crucifix, a makeshift altar, chairs scattered around and lots of noise, chatter and confusion throughout the entire Mass, the priest making most of the noise himself.

    But all that was somewhat bearable until:

    Now comes the appalling part – and I tell you I almost had a heart attack! Just before the Consacration, the priest tells everybody “it is better if you all sit rather than kneel.” (Why? I wondered, there was plenty of room for kneeling). Then during the Consacration, he lifts up the host with one hand, and the microphone in the other while saying, “This is my body ….” Then again, he lifts the chalice AND THE MICROPHONE together and he holds them both up while he says, “This is the cup of my blood ……”

    It gets worse.

    At Communion time, he calls up a lady, lifts the large host (the body of Christ), cracks it in two, and gives her half and tells her to “break it up into little pieces and then go and distribute it” – which she does.

    Unbelievable !!! What more can I say??? I thought I just had to share this abomination with somebody. Has the Catholic Church really sank so low?

    I am going to write to this priest and tell him what I think.

    Apologies for the long comment – but please give me your feedback. Am I over-reacting? I am well and truly appalled and mortified.

    • 8 churchmouse July 26, 2009 at 21:29

      No, Cinzia — you are not overreacting. In fact, I feel sorry for you but espcially for your children who have to see this and think it is **normal**!! Shameful!

      Please tell them that this is not the One True Catholic Church.

      Thank you for taking the time and having the courage to write to the priest. Please let us know what he says.

      And, should he come back with a negative comment, please let us know. This is not the type of **parish** (note, I did not say ‘Church’) in which your children should receive the Catechism.

      I have a post on the Australian view of Catholic Communion coming up in a few days, by the way. (Not encouraging.)

  8. 9 Kieran July 26, 2009 at 16:21

    Cinzia, you’ve hit the nail on the head!
    What this blog is doing as well as many others is an amazing job of explaining to people the difference between the Mass of ALL our saints, the MASS of ALL Catholics since 2000 years ago, the most beautiful thing this side of heaven, ONE and THE SAME all over the world and a mass that is childish and ALWAYS different whichever church you go and just another fun thing for Sundays and always said according to the many ideas of the modern priests and the lay people. It truly is an abomination.
    Do write to the priest and copy your bishop🙂
    I just cannot understand why most bishops in the world are against the beautiful Mass (and not listening to the Pope)!
    Martin Luther said something to the effect that if you take away the Catholic Mass, you take away the Church. Do we not see the Church crumbling since the introduction of the Novus Ordo Missae?

  9. 10 Torkel July 26, 2009 at 16:37

    I am someone in my late 20s who is a recent ‘convert’ to the EXTRAORDINARY FORM of the MASS after growing up in a very liberal parish and believe me, Cinzia, I have been to some much worse than the one you describe – an appalling one was a neocatecumenal (I think this was the name) mass in Rome last year! I now go to daily mass, NO 4 days a week, Latin Mass 3 days (a bit far for me). Yet when I am at NO I just yearn for the Latin Mass. The richness of the prayers e.g. Judica Me, the connection to our Jewish roots of the High Priest entering the holy of holies. The priest facing east not seen as turning his back, but rather leading us into this Holy place. God Bless Pope Benedict for his Motu Proprio which opened this world to me! I heartily advise everyone to learn about the Latin Mass.. if only you realised what us younger catholics have been missing out on! I feel defrauded.

  10. 11 Louisa July 26, 2009 at 17:01

    I prefer the colloquial Mass. The Latin Mass is neat and I believe in preserving tradition, but at a Latin Mass I just don’t understand the celebration. It’s so much easier to understand the homily when you’ve understood the readings. I think it gets the message across better.

    At a Latin Mass I find it impossible to concentrate, and my mind wanders and I end up thinking about everything but what’s going on around me. Frankly it’s a bit tedious, and I get to looking forward to it being over.

    I would however like to see some sensible guidelines or restrictions put on the colloquial Mass. I’ve been to more than one service that was just so pushing the boundaries of acceptability that I just didn’t feel like I had been to church that morning. I mean, I’ve come to hear the Scripture, listen to the homily and receive Communion, not listen to a jazz band or participate in a hippy “love in” or a priest’s theatre-show.

    But I am the crotchety 60 year old type who hates change, so take that for what it’s worth.

  11. 12 Victor July 26, 2009 at 17:02

    All Catholic Churches should celebrate the old traditional Latin Mass. It is the Roman Catholic thing to do. I’m 27 years old and rather attend the true catholic mass which is the Old Latin Mass. I pass 14 other so called catholic churches in the San Francisco Bay Area, traveling 18 miles just to attend the wonderful Traditional Latin Mass. I pray for the church just one mile away from my house to celebrate the old mass soon.

  12. 13 Ron July 26, 2009 at 19:55

    Louisa, if you go to Mass only “to hear the Scripture, listen to the homily and receive Communion” then by all means the NO is for you!🙂

    Cinzia, I shuddered when I read your experience. One of the classic truths of rubrics that is so easily discernible in the Mass of All Times is the utter sacredness of touch with respect to the Most Holy Eucharist–a truth, which has been unfortunately lost in the NO. The sacredness of touch of the Eucharist has been ignored, forgotten, and overlooked in the creation and progression of the “Novus Ordo Missae” in the last forty years. The respect which is due to the Eucharist and the sacred and holy can be obviously and easily comprehended from even the most cursory reading of Sacred Scriptures.

    From scripture we observe that no one could approach holy things in the Old Testament (the ark), likewise no one could touch our Lord if they were not completely spiritually clean–or at least intended to be so. And even with respect to a person who was spiritually clean, such divine privilege to even approach was still disallowed from lack of hierarchical status (Mary Magdalen & the Syro-Phoenician woman).

    Why is such a significant consideration ignored today? Is it a totally culpable ignorance of Our Divine Lord’s teachings or is it a blatant refusal to obey both these teachings and the Church’s century old rubrics?

    This endemic spirit of disobedience since Vatican II regarding the sacredness of Holy Touch has become emblematic of the entire “Novus Ordo Missae”. The rites of the new mass, the philosophy behind them, and the entire “spirit” of Vatican II are inextricably related to the sinful disrespect of taking tactile advantage of the Lord’s Sacred Presence in this world, whether Eucharistic or otherwise.

  13. 14 Cinzia July 27, 2009 at 00:45

    Thank you everyone for your comments and enlightenments. Much appreciated.

    Ron, you have explained things so brilliantly with regards to the sacredness of the Holy Touch, that I hope you don’t mind me quoting some of your sentences to this priest when I write to him. I couldn’t possibly have written it down so superbly myself.

    Thanks again to all! and apologies to you Gabriella, if I took the liberty of using your blog comments space for this.

    God bless
    Cinzia

  14. 15 Ron July 27, 2009 at 07:26

    Sure, Cinzia, no problem at all.
    Make sure you copy your Bishop🙂
    Wish all of us ‘true Catholics’ would find a little time to do small things like this to help Christ’s Bride, the Church.

  15. 16 Gabriella July 27, 2009 at 12:06

    Cinzia, no problem at all – that’s what blogs are for: a super way of talking with people from around the world and a fantastic means of making good friends😉

    All of you, thank you very much indeed. I have a lot to learn from all your opinions and points of view and experiences.
    Please forgive my not being too present recently but I promise to catch up with you all after the holiday period.

    God bless you.

  16. 17 Eremitica July 29, 2009 at 12:25

    Cambiato link…http://in-corde-matris.blogspot.com/ Un abbraccio!

  17. 18 Antonella Oliver July 31, 2009 at 11:14

    Oh my goodness……..after reading the above…..I am so scared of my wrongdoing. You see I attend a Catholic Church run by the Oratorians (Philip Neri). They are a lovely and holy bunch of priests….yet they celebrate the Mass in the Novus Order…it is not disrespectful…it is quiet and with dignity with beautiful hymns sung. And I am a Eucharistic Minister and I do go up to the altar to receive the host and the blood of Christ and then the priest hands out the host and 4 Eucharistic ministers hand out the blood to the people.
    What must I think when I read the above……..that I am doing a terrible thing when I think instead it is such a privilege to be up in the altar and serve.
    I am not aware that the bishops are in disobedience to the Pope. After Vatican 11 the Mass changed its format and language to accommodate all peoples in their language for better understanding.

    I am sure our church obeys the Pope in everything…..so then where does the disobedience come into it …… in the very heart of the Vatican we hear Mass said in Italian and celebrated in the way I have been used to for many years even though I grew up with the Latin Mass.

    Maybe some churches go overboard like in Australia where Cinzia mentioned her attendance at Mass there…….but most are holy and dignified and respectful…………

    help me out with all this confusion……..

    I cannot believe that many millions of catholics the world over are being deceived !! help help help

  18. 19 Ron July 31, 2009 at 13:05

    Antonella, I read this blog very carefully and no one has ever said that the NO Mass is illegal or illicit – Gabriella’s beautiful answer to you in the comments of the post “On Liturgy” (june 9) is very clear. Both the NO Mass and the Mass of All Times are two valid liturgies of the Catholic Church – only the NO is always said differently whichever church you attend, the Mass of All Times is THE ONE AND ONLY ALL OVER THE WORLD.

    You are wrong when you say that most priests and parishes and clerical institutions today obey the Pope – they do not (only recently the Pope had a huge proplem with the Bishops and priests of Austria and the Netherlands). And, if as you say, all are obedient, then every single parish in the world would have at least one Latin Mass offered🙂
    That, I think, is the clue of the matter and this is why most of the Pope’s documents issued in recent years are aimed at putting things straight and clarifying the many ambiguous points of Vat II – example, ‘Dominus Iesus’, the document on the Eucharist, the Motu Proprio, and, I believe, about a year ago, the ‘Vatican Instruction on Lay Ministry – Distinct Roles of Priests and Laity Reaffirmed’ (which received many protests, see http://www.wf-f.org/priest(win-spr98).html ) which underlined the fact that only in the case when there is no priest and out of necessity lay ministers can take over. And there is another big meeting of Theologians being planned these days always to clarify the ambiguous points of Vat. II.

    You say: “I cannot believe that many millions of catholics the world over are being deceived !! help help help” They are not being deceived – they are just not using their heads, they just don’t want to know, they don’t ask themselves questions (such as if a priest, when he is ordained, has his hands blessed so he can touch Our Lord, why is everyone just taking the host with no respect and fear?) they ARE NOT INTERESTED in their faith for nowadays there is nothing to stop one from doing research – they are just ‘blind followers’ and the Church Militant doesn’t need these.
    As far as “help help help” is concerned, you can only help yourself. Just by reading this blog and similar ‘real Catholic’ blogs you’ll learn a lot, believe me!

    A book I suggest you read: ‘Vatican II: The Real Untold Story’ by Bishop Agostino Marchetto

  19. 20 Cinzia August 1, 2009 at 02:20

    Thank you Ron for giving such a thorough explanation.

    As with most things, unfortunately, the majority of people just follow instructions,rules, government policies, any old thing that happens and is going on, like a bunch of sheep, without ever asking questions, doing research, and finding out for themselves whether something they are following or doing is right or wrong ….. happens everywhere one looks. I guess another name for it could be “brainwashing.”

    As you explained so well earlier on too about how clearly rubrics state the sacredness of touch. I have to wonder how many Catholics actually know about this, or have ever even heard of the word “rubrics.”

    I am sorry to say Antonella, that one of the aspects of the NO IS the disobedience of many priests who have come to believe they can almost do anything they like when celebrating Holy Mass. For me the worst abomination of all is exactly this: the fact that lay people, men and women, give out Holy Communion AND the way in which everyone puts their lips on the chalice and take a sip. It is utterly appalling.

    From a human perspective, it is also appalling. I don’t know about you, but I can’t help wondering what these people had been doing prior to coming to Mass … when I see how some come along, with tracksuit pants, dirty sneakers. The lady at the Mass last Sunday, for all I know, might have been cutting up onions for the family’s Sunday lunch or worse, cleaning her bathroom. (It’s what people do, I clean my bathroom and toilet in the mornings after everyone has had their showers etc.) I might be crazy, but these things do go through my head.

    For years the NO Mass has been a source of great disappointment and disillusionment for me, to the point that I stopped going to Church. Not an excuse, just a fact.

    Anyhow, I am learning a great deal from this wonderful blog and all its participants. I can see that many are really very well educated people and have a deep understanding of their religion, of Catholic doctrine, of the 2nd Vatican Council. I really ADMIRE them all – because I can honestly confess I knew very little myself. What I can at least say for myself is that I don’t follow things blindly, and DO ask myself questions, many times, about many things. This post is brilliant in that it clearly answers many many questions and makes a lot of sense. I am now so passionate about the dignity and solemnity of the Extraordinary Form of the Mass that I am reading everything available about it – from books suggested here, to the Pope’s Motu Proprio – and so on. Better late than never!!

    I would like to suggest you do the same. My eyes have been opened wide and I don’t know how to start to thank Gabriella, Ron, Kieran, Churchmouse, Brian, Mannono, Andrea, Bill and everyone else I have missed out, for their fantastic insights and all their knowledge. What an inspiration and for me, what a Godsend!

    I can’t wait to go to St Patrick’s Cathedral tomorrow where the Mass of All Times is so beautifully celebrated.
    YES! YES! YES!

    • 21 churchmouse August 1, 2009 at 16:18

      So glad you’re going back to the cathedral!! God is guiding us all. It’s just that our opponents are so deeply entrenched. Keep up the good work, everyone!

  20. 22 Cinzia August 1, 2009 at 04:05

    While we are back on the subject, I might add that I did write to the priest who celebrated Mass last Sunday (see my story above). I also wrote to the Archbishop of Melbourne and copied him in on the email to the priest.

    On Tuesday I received a phonecall from the priest who (to cut a long phonecall short), essentially told me I was a “very disturbed person, a deceitful one and a liar!”

    I have yet to receive any response from the Archdiocese, or at least an acknowledgement that they have received my email. So far a lot of silence from the Archdiocese … but I will perservere and follow up next week.

    For anyone who is interested, Churchmouse will be putting an entry in his/her blog about this very sad saga sometime in the next couple of weeks.

  21. 24 Bill Turner August 1, 2009 at 08:20

    Hey Cinzia, well done!
    That’s the typical reaction of one scared priest!!
    A rude one too!!
    (Don’t think the Bishop will ever answer you) …
    Let’s continue to be soldiers for our Pope and our Church for, as the Pope himself declared upon his election, “Pray for me, I’m surrounded by wolves” …
    Maranatha!

  22. 25 Cinzia August 1, 2009 at 11:00

    Hello Bill – nice to hear from you. Hope all is well. I am going to become a thorn in the side of the bishop because I ain’t relenting until I get an answer from him.🙂

    Have a great weekend.

  23. 26 Wendell August 1, 2009 at 16:31

    Antonella, the Pope only gives communion on the tongue.

    http://wdtprs.com/blog/2008/05/corpus-christi-mass-benedict-xvi-gives-communion-only-on-the-tongue-to-people-kneeling/

    Churchmouse has a good post on this.

  24. 28 Cinzia August 3, 2009 at 01:23

    Here’s a positive entry to compensate for last week’s dismal one.

    Mass at the Cathedral yesterday was “simply Divine.” Solemn and dignified, a wonderful priest, an intelligent sermon relevant to the day’s gospel “I am the bread of life.”

    ….with the added bonus of a good choir, disciplined altar boys and one of my favourites: incense!

    A very interesting mixture of the two forms of the Mass … the Extraordinary Form of the Mass in many ways, but in English. Nicely done and most importantly there is reverence and dignity which is a lot more than can be said for most NO masses.

    The first time my family and I attended Mass at St Patrick’s a few weeks ago this is what happened:
    As soon as the Priest intoned the Gloria I immediately recognised the Missa de Angelis .. so I opened my mouth to sing out loud, bubbling with excitement. But I found that the words just didn’t seem to fit with what everyone else was singing and soon made a complete mess of my Latin. Half way through I realised they were singing that famous Gloria in ENGLISH (duh!)

    Gabriella how does one make a yellow smiley face go red?

    Anyway: What a great compensation for last Sunday’s dismal story.

    Wishing you all a very good week ahead. Ciao!

  25. 29 Antonella Oliver August 3, 2009 at 09:43

    Thank you to all the Responses. On reading (Ephesians 4: 4-7)

    A Reflection: We are all parts on one Body, Paul says and we have been given many gifts and abilities. Unity does not just happen; we have to work at it. Often differences among people can lead to division, but this should not be true in the Church. Instead of concentrating on what divides us, we are called to remember what unites us: one body, one Spirit, One Lord, one Faith, one Baptism, One God.
    Are we able to see how differing gifts and viewpoints can help the church as it strives to serve God and his people? With a little effort, we may learn to enjoy the way members of Christ’s body complement one another.

    Also 1 John 3; 19-24 This then is how we will know that we belong to the truth; this is how we will be confident in God’s presence. If our conscience condemns us, we know that God is greater than our conscience and that he knows everything. And so my dear freinds , if our conscience does not condemn us, we have courage in God’s presence. We receive from Him whatever we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him. What he commands is that we believe in His Son Jesus Christ and love one another, just as Christ commanded us. Whoever obeys Gods commands lives in union with God and God lives in union with him.


Leave a Reply

Traduci / Translate

My Patron Saint

Archangel Gabriel

God's Messenger



Another beautiful day! Praise the Lord.

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

THE LATIN MASS


The most beautiful thing this side of heaven!




FALANGI, TRUPPE, DIVISIONI CORAZZATE. ECCO CHE AVANZA IL NUOVO CATTOLICO: INNAMORATO DI GESU', INTRANSIGENTE, MOVIMENTISTA, IL CROCIATO DEI VALORI, IL SOLDATO DI CRISTO, UN CUORE TRADIZIONALISTA, AMANTE DELLA MESSA DI TUTTI I TEMPI ...



e-campagna: Io sto con il Papa

IL CANTO DEL PARADISO


Dopo due millenni di studi, di ricerche e di esplorazioni scientifiche, la genesi del canto gregoriano resta un mistero irrisolto


RELIGIOUS LIBERTY MIGHT BE SUPPOSED TO MEAN THAT EVERYBODY IS FREE TO DISCUSS RELIGION. IN PRACTICE IT MEANS THAT HARDLY ANYBODY IS ALLOWED TO MENTION IT.



PRAY THE ROSARY


The story of our salvation!







Blog Stats

  • 142,473 hits

Clipart

Recent Comments

Lost Bear on O Causa Nostrae Laetitiae
Margaret Rose Bradle… on O Causa Nostrae Laetitiae
Deana Dodds on O Causa Nostrae Laetitiae
Margaret Rose Bradle… on O Causa Nostrae Laetitiae
Judith Golden on O Causa Nostrae Laetitiae

Visitor locations – first year

Visitor locations – current year



IN HOC SIGNO VINCES




INDIFFERENTISM is a mortal sin; a condemned heresy. That's the Catholic view of the matter. INDIFFERENTISM paves the way to MORAL RELATIVISM. I have been accused of the opposite of ‘Indifferentism’, which is defined as ‘Rigorism’, and the charge is not without some merit. I believe in a rigorous following of Church doctrine and in strict accuracy in proper Catholic catechesis, and I openly attack watered-down Catholic doctrine and catechesis whenever and wherever I encounter it. Many friends scold me saying that for me it’s either my way or the highway. But here’s the thing … it’s not my way; I didn’t make up all (or any of) the rules of Catholicism. I’ve been told “you’re too rigid in your doctrine,” as if it were my doctrine. When it comes to Catholic catechesis, there is only one Church teaching, and it is represented in the Catechism of the Catholic Church. I’m prepared to defend any item in it, against any opponent. I draw the line at ‘indifferentism’ and ‘moral relativism’. All belief systems are not the same. The ones who push it the most are the ones who seek to replace it with something less. Again, indifferentism paves the way to moral decay. Don’t let it seep into your thinking. May you please God, and may you live forever.

“Oremus pro beatissimo Papa nostro Benedicto XVI: Dominus conservet eum, et vivificet eum, et beatum faciat eum in terra, et non tradat eum in animam inimicorum eius.”



Powered by WebRing®.
This site is a member of WebRing.
To browse visit Here.
Catholic Blogs Page




Italian Bloggers
Religion Blogs


Don't consider abortion ...


... give a child the chance to tell you how much life is appreciated



WARNING!!! This blog is heretic repellent ...


MODERN CATHOLICS SEE THE CHURCH AS AN ‘OLD-FASHIONED’ DISCRIMINATORY INSTITUTION OF WHICH THEY ARE ASHAMED – A TRADITIONAL CATHOLIC WILL DIE TO DEFEND IT.

MODERN CATHOLICS WOULD JUST AS SOON LEAVE THE CHURCH FOR A TRENDY ALTERNATIVE IF THEY DON’T GET THEIR WAY – A TRADITIONAL CATHOLIC WILL REMAIN UNTIL THE END OF TIME.


THE CHURCH MILITANT NOW, MORE THAN EVER, NEEDS STRONG WARRIORS.




The Catholic Church doesn’t need progressives, Nor does it need Reactionary Conservatives - It badly needs Catholic Traditionalists that practice faith, hope and charity. So don’t be shy! Come forward.

“When Christ at a symbolic moment was establishing His great society, He chose for its corner-stone neither the brilliant Paul nor the mystic John, but a shuffler, a snob, a coward - in a word, a man. And upon this rock He has built His Church, and the gates of Hell have not prevailed and will not prevail against it. All the empires and the kingdoms have failed because of this inherent and continual weakness, that they were founded by strong men and upon strong men. But this one thing - the historic Catholic Church - was founded upon a weak man, and for that reason it is indestructible. For no chain is stronger than its weakest link.”
(G.K. Chesterton)



Anno Sacerdotale

Pope Benedict XVI has declared a “Year for Priests” beginning with the Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus on June 19, 2009. The year will conclude in Rome with an international gathering of priests with the Holy Father on June 19, 2010.
******

Quest'anno sia anche un'occasione per un periodo di intenso approfondimento dell'identità sacerdotale, della teologia del sacerdozio cattolico e del senso straordinario della vocazione e della missione dei sacerdoti nella Chiesa e nella società.
******

Let your light so shine before men that, seeing your good works, they may glorify your Father in Heaven. (Matthew 5:16)
******

In Domino laudabitur anima mea.





"That sense of the sacred dogmas is to be faithfully kept which Holy Mother Church has once declared, and is not to be departed from under the specious pretext of a more profound understanding."- Pope Leo XIII, Testem Benevolentiae

Nessuno di noi entrerà in Paradiso senza portare con sé un fratello o una sorella. Ciascuno di noi deve uscire dalla folla e reggersi sulle proprie gambe, fiero di essere un Cattolico e capace di testimoniare la sua Fede.
Ci stiamo comportando come se la Fede Cattolica fosse un affare privato. Questo non è affatto vero. Penso che potremo andare molto, molto lontano, se riusciremo a convincere tutti i Cattolici a farsi carico della salvezza del mondo intero.
Il mondo ha bisogno di essere salvato e deve essere ciascuno di noi a farlo.




Cantate …


Cantate Domino canticum novum. Cantate Domino omnis terra. Cantate Domino et benedicite nomini Ejus. Annuntiate de die in diem salutare Ejus.

Causa nostrae laetitiae




“We can believe what we choose. We are answerable for what we choose to believe”.
(John Henry Newman)



Pueris manus imponit

Iesus vero ait eis - Sinite parvulos, et nolite eos prohibere ad me venire - talium est enim regnum caelorum.




“There is another essential aspect of Christianity: the interior, the silent, the contemplative, in which hidden wisdom is more important than practical organizational science, and in which love replaces the will to get visible results”.
(Thomas Merton)



Lo Spirito Santo


Uno dei Suoi nomi è "Consolatore"!




Confession

Confession heals, confession justifies, confession grants pardon of sin. All hope consists in confession. In confession there is a chance for mercy. Believe it firmly. Do not doubt, do not hesitate, never despair of the mercy of God. Hope and have confidence in confession.




“Almeno sei volte durante gli ultimi anni mi sono trovato nella situazione di convertirmi senza esitazione al cattolicesimo, se non mi avesse trattenuto dal compiere il gesto azzardato l'averlo già fatto”.
(G.K. Chesterton)



"Whatsoever I have or hold, You have given me; I give it all back to You and surrender it wholly to be governed by your will. Give me only your love and your grace, and I am rich enough and ask for nothing more."

(St. Ignatius of Loyola - Spiritual Exercises, #234)



"Mia madre è stata veramente una martire; non a tutti Gesù concede di percorrere una strada così facile, per arrivare ai suoi grandi doni, come ha concesso a mio fratello e a me, dandoci una madre che si uccise con la fatica e le preoccupazioni per assicurarsi che noi crescessimo nella fede".
J.R.R. Tolkien scrisse queste parole nove anni dopo la morte di sua madre.






Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong. (1 Corinthians 16:13)




“Beati sarete voi quando vi oltraggeranno e perseguiteranno, e falsamente diranno di voi ogni male per cagion mia. Rallegratevi ed esultate perché grande è la vostra ricompensa nei cieli”.